TheCoatingStore.com

Thread: PPG Flex N' Flat Clear

Default PPG Flex N' Flat Clear

Hello All,
    I am new to this paint by PPG. I painted a motorcycle frame, trying to achieve a low gloss powder coated look. The results turned out gloss. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Should my wet coat be glossy? Should I be laying the coat so light that it looks low gloss?, and then just letting it dry like that? Please help, I'm not sure what I'm missing.

Thanks,
    tom

If you are using PPG Flex N' Flat clear read the P-sheet close. A small amount to much hardener may cause gloss. No clear needs to be added to the preflat clear. Adding standered clear is how get more gloss. Leave it out. If I recall, You have hardener options. I had good luck with dcx161. You spray it glossy and it drys flat. Hope this helps.

I did use the dcx61 as well. I also mixed it according to the spec sheet. Here is the part I did not do. It says "mixed product should be shaken well before and during application". How important is this step? I mixed it with a stir stick pretty well, just like I would any other paint. Is that where I messed up? Thanks for the help.

Tom

All clears and hardeners need to be shaken well be for using. I don't know how much that might change the gloss. I have a sheet on this, give me a few min. to find it.

The p-sheet I have is for DCU 2060
    The mix ratios:

DCU 2060 6 parts

DT Reducer 1 part

DCX 61 hardener 1 part

6 to 1 to 1 Is this the way you mixed yours?

Yes, I mixed mine exactly like that. My finish is super glossy. I'm definitely confused. I know I didn't shake up the mix, but I just figured that it might slightly effect it, but not this much. Any other ideas? Thanks for your help.