TheCoatingStore.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DIY paint booth (pic's)

Default DIY paint booth (pic's)

Hello everybody, I'm a noob to this site. I thought I would share with ya'll my home built paint booth I built out in my shop. I just got it completed several weeks ago and was looking for some feedback on my air supply/evacuation set-up. Pic's first:

It is 14'x26' with a tad over 8' in height. It's a poor man's down draft. You can see the inlet filter in the ceiling and the returns are along the base boards.

The ceiling filter measures 3'x16', it blows a nice soft gentle air plume down over the car.

This is the air supply. I used 3/4" copper from my compressor (approx 70' of it), then transitioned over to PVC for the dryer and regulator. I stabbed in a window A/C unit for cooling while I'm in there sanding, buffing, etc.

This is the top of the paint booth. The duct on the right is my return air (there is another one on the left side of the booth just like it that you can't see). The big duct on the left is my air supply that dumps down thru the filter in the ceiling. The returns go all the way to the back wall then turn in towards the center of the booth and dumps back into the supply duct. This is where I need some advice, as you can see my air system recirculates the air, it doesn't vent out the paint mist/fumes. I was told that doing it this way might cause problems with "Die Back". I never heard that term before but I was told that the solvents in the air coming back into the paint booth would hit the fresh paint and could dull it. I guess kinda like blushing?

You're probably asking yourself, why the heck did he run the air system like that? Well, to be honest, this set up is in my back yard and I am concerned about the neighbors. I don't want to attract a lot of attention, but in retrospect, I'm not in there priming/painting every day so that was probably faulty logic on my part.