TheCoatingStore.com

Thread: Nason paint system

Default Nason paint system

I'm about to paint a few parts on my car, its my first time painting and don't want to spend alot of money on the good stuff so I'll be using nason. This is a list of the products I picked out to use, let me know how this will work or if I should change anything. Thanks.

Nason 441-05 wax/grease remover
    Plas-stik 2322S adhesion promoter
    Nason Select-Prime 421-19
    Ful-Seal Select 422-23 acrylic sealer
    Ful-base B/C basecoat
    Select-clear 496-00

Jeshz:

What exactly are you painting, and what shape is it in?

Barry

I'm painting the rear and front bumper covers and driver side door on a 95 chevy camaro. Both covers are stripped down to the bare plastic with some body work on the front cover, both are sanded to 220. The door, I feathered out all rock chips and such and has an original oem finish on it. Made a mistake of sanding the entire door with 220 but still has clear coat on the non repair areas.

Jeshz

Some will suggest a flex additive for your plastic parts....i don't use it. I would suggest you look into the use of chroma base instead of the nason basecoat. Its been my experience theres really no cost difference between the two because you use half as much of the chroma as you do the nason. The chroma will also give you a better match with your oem paint. The nason sealer is suspect, as per my dupont guy telling me the nason sealer will bleed up thru the basecoat over time and give you a less vibrant paint look. Its happening to one of my vehicles that i painted a few years back....looks like it needs a wax job, once you look close, you can see the clearcoat has a good shine, but the paint is less vibrant....I switched to mp170 epoxy, and use that as my sealer.
    Good luck with your project

Barry